Billed after the month, never before
Invited members who never start a timer are not billed.
TimoDesk is time tracking and employee monitoring software at $1 per user per month, with screenshots included. Here it is next to Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Toggl Track, Clockify, Insightful and DeskTime on price, features and billing, including where each one does better.
TimoDesk is $1 per user per month, with every feature on one plan. For the other tools here, entry plans cost $3.99 to $9. The plans that match what TimoDesk includes cost $7.99 to $12. That is 8 to 12 times the price for the same core features.
Every price in that range is billed per seat. TimoDesk charges $1 for each person who tracked time that month.
The entry price is the lowest paid price on each vendor's pricing page. The next column is the plan you need for screenshots and activity levels. That is the fair price to compare. Toggl Track takes no screenshots on any plan, so it has no matching plan. Sources: Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Toggl Track, Clockify, Insightful, DeskTime.
| Tool | Entry price | Plan that matches TimoDesk | Screenshots | Cost vs TimoDesk | Comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
TimoDeskOne plan, no tiers |
$1 | $1 Every feature | Baseline | Pricing | |
ClockifyA free plan for up to five users |
$3.99 | $7.99 Pro | Pro plan | 8× | Compare |
DeskTimeShift scheduling and attendance management |
$6.42 | $9.17 Premium | Premium plan | 9× | Compare |
HubstaffGPS and geofencing for field teams |
$4.99 | $10 Team | 10× | Compare | |
Time DoctorVideo screen recording on Premium |
$6.67 | $11.67 Standard | 12× | Compare | |
InsightfulBuilt for large operations at scale |
$8 | $12 Workforce Analytics + screenshot add-on | Paid add-on | 12× | Compare |
Toggl TrackOver 100 integrations, the widest catalog here |
$9 | No matching plan Starter is $9, with no screenshots | No matching plan | Compare |
The same rules for every vendor.
Every price in the table above is per seat and paid in advance. A person on leave, a contractor between projects or a new hire who has not started costs the same as someone who tracks every day. TimoDesk sends its invoice at the end of the month and counts only the members who tracked time.
Invited members who never start a timer are not billed.
Start with a few people and add more later. There is nothing to buy in advance.
Your bill follows who tracked time that month.
When a feature exists but needs a higher tier, the cell names that tier instead of showing a check. "Not stated" means the vendor does not publish a clear answer. It does not mean the feature is missing, and we leave the cell open rather than guess. See how TimoDesk handles screenshots, activity levels and app and website usage.
| Capability | TimoDesk | Hubstaff | Time Doctor | Toggl Track | Clockify | Insightful | DeskTime |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Desktop time tracking | |||||||
| Windows, macOS and Linux | |||||||
| Screenshot capture | Pro plan | Paid add-on | Premium plan | ||||
| Activity level monitoring | Not stated | ||||||
| App and website usage | Standard + | Partial | |||||
| Projects and tasks | Optimization | ||||||
| Timesheets and PDF export | |||||||
| Manual time with approval | Team plan | Standard + | Premium plan | Standard + | |||
| Kanban project boards | Grow + | Not stated | Partial | Separate app | Optimization | Not stated | |
| Client access | Premium | Partial | Partial | Exports only | |||
| Invoicing | Partial | Partial | Not stated | Not stated | |||
| Performance and heatmaps | Higher tiers | Standard + | Not stated | Partial | Partial | ||
| Video screen recording | Premium | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |||
| GPS and geofencing | GPS | Not stated | IP location | ||||
| Built-in payroll | Partial | Exports only | Not stated | ||||
| Third-party integrations | Not yet | Extensive | 60+ | 100+ | Not stated | ||
| Free plan | Up to 5 | 1 user | |||||
| Every feature on one plan |
The TimoDesk column is shaded so you can follow it across the table.
Each page shows full pricing, the feature table, what the other tool does better than TimoDesk, and a clear answer on which one fits your team.
It is better to learn this now than three weeks after you set it up. If you must have any of these, one of the tools above is the better choice, and its comparison page says so.
Most tools in this category track time well. The differences that matter are smaller than the marketing suggests, and they come down to these four.
If a client or a finance team has to accept your numbers, you need screenshots and activity levels. That rules out timer-only tools like Toggl Track. It also means paying for Clockify Pro or DeskTime Premium instead of their entry plans.
If you do, Hubstaff and Clockify include them and are worth their price. DeskTime also offers shift scheduling. TimoDesk offers none of the three.
Hubstaff, Time Doctor, Toggl Track, Clockify and DeskTime all offer integrations. TimoDesk has none yet, so check this before you decide.
On most tools, useful reports are one or two tiers above the entry plan. On TimoDesk, every report is on the only plan, at the same price per user.
Clear answers on price, matching plans, billing and where these prices come from.
Of the tools compared here, TimoDesk. It's $1 per user per month, with screenshots included on its only plan. The next lowest plan that matches what TimoDesk includes is Clockify Pro at $7.99 per user per month.
Because most tools in this category put screenshots, activity levels and detailed reports on a middle or top tier. The entry price usually buys only a timer. The "Plan that matches TimoDesk" column shows the tier you need once you have to prove the hours.
Per active user. At the end of each month, TimoDesk counts the members who tracked time and bills $1 for each of them. Invited members who never start a timer are not billed, there is no seat minimum, and you never pay in advance. The other tools on this page charge per user per month for every seat you hold.
Yes, if you need time tracking, screenshots, activity levels, reports and a kanban board for each project. TimoDesk is $1 per user per month against $10 for Hubstaff Team and $11.67 for Time Doctor Standard. If you need GPS, payroll or shift scheduling in the same system, Hubstaff is the better fit and worth its price.
No. There is a 15-day free trial with no card needed, then one plan at $1 per user per month. If a permanent free plan matters more than features, Toggl Track and Clockify both offer one.
From each vendor's own pricing page, at annual-billing rates, checked in August 2026. The pricing section on this page and each comparison page link to those sources, so you can check the current price yourself.
Create your organization and invite your team today. Tracked time shows on the dashboard the same day, and the first full-day reports are ready the next day. $1 per user per month, with every feature included.